Archive | January, 2009

Kerr Debate Accepts the Lexus Eco Challenge

25 Jan

ecochallengelogoSince August, this team has been active researching and promoting environmental issues and have organized a school wide effort to mobilize their peers to take a stand on climate change. Current activities include daily informational videos and PSA’s and constructing a Climate Pledge challenging their peers and teachers to take a stand. This was kicked of by a school wide media blitz and will include many activities for their community to get involved. This program has been made possible by the BP A+ for Energy grant that has inspired the team to take action.

The Kerr High Debate Team once again is actively educating about environmental issues by accepting the second annual Lexus Eco Challenge, a national contest that encourages high school students to develop and implement environmental programs that positively impact their communities.

The community is invited to support the team’s Action Plan joining the pledge and taking action. The public is also invited to Kerr’s first ever public Climate Debates in March. As part of the current challenge, Lexus and Scholastic will choose 16 winning teams nationwide. Each team will receive a total of $10,000 in grants and scholarships. All winning teams from this challenge and two other initial challenges will be invited to participate in the Final Challenge for a chance to win a grand prize of $50,000 in grants and scholarships
Come by the Speech room to see how you can help.


Kerr Success at the Churchill TOC

18 Jan
Churchill Crew

Churchill Crew

A travel travel squad of five debaters bring back awards from the prestigious Winston Churchill tournament in San Antonio, January 6-6,2009.


Student Congress (TOC) – Micheal Kebede              – 7th Place Finalist

Novie Policy Debate: Jessie Ho & Cameron Clark- 3rd Place

Novie Lincoln Douglas Debate: Jay Meza                – Quarter-finalist (Top 8!)

Foriegn Extempt: Joshua Tang                                    – Semi-finalist (TOC Bid)

Katy Debate Success!

17 Jan

katy-jimmy-dennis-pfKaty Award Winners:

Varsity LD Debate: Christina Phan                                  – 2nd Place Finalist

Policy Debate: Nick Chan & Nancy Troung                  – Semi-finalist (Top 4!)

Silvia Chicas & Christine Umeh          – Quarter-finalist (Top 8!)

Student Congree: Rumana Kermalli                                -5th Place Finalist

1st Place Victory at Westfield!

8 Jan


Kerr Speech and Debate started the Fall 08 Season out by taking 1st Sweeps at Elsik, and repeated the feat by taking 1st Sweeps out of 38 schools at Westfield this weekend.

Not only did we continue our debate dominance, but added some great IE accomplishments as Peter Ton became our 1st every HI State qualifier!

All of these students are well deserving of our praise.

Results from Westfield:

Joshua Tang
-1st CLD
-1st place CLD speaker

Peter Ton
-1st HI (qualled in HI)

Michael Kebede
-2nd Congress (qualled in Congress)

Nicholas Chan
-2nd in NX
-4th in NPO

Sean Tecson
-2nd NPO

Christine Umeh
-Quarterfinalist CCX (2 State Points)
-3rd place CCX Speaker
-POI finalist

Silvia Chicas
-Quaterfinalist CCX (2 State Points)
-4th place CCX Speaker

Jessie Ho
-1st place NCX
– NX Finalist

Dennis Chau
-1st place NCX

Nancy Truong
-NX Finalist

Brian Ng
-1st place NLD

Phina Uzowulu
– broke in NLD

Jovaugh Jackson
– broke in NLD

Cameron and Frances
– Quarterfinalist for NCX

1st-place-sweeps out of 38 schools!