Archive | January, 2010

Lamar Tournament

31 Jan

During the last week of month a small group of the Kerr speech and debate team attended the lamar tournament. Even though the team did not have as great of a success as previews tournament  the team arived on monday with the following finalist:

Duo                                Sadiqa Bramlette and Peter Ton       5th

Duet Acting :                 Sadiqa Bramlette and Peter Ton       6th

Student congress:                    Anthony Phung                                 finalist

Original Oratory:           Anthony Phung                                 semi-finalist

Domestic extemp:                    Anthony Phung                                semi-finalist         

Dramatic Interpretation: Funmi. Amubieya                                      semi-finalist

Prose:                                      Funmi. Amubieya                             semi-finalist

Poetry:                           Nicolas chan                                    3rd

                                          Betsy Garcia                                     semi-finalist

                                         Funmi. Amubieya                                       semi-finalist


Churchill Tournament

16 Jan

Our 14 competitors took part in the largest TOC tournament in Texas

All Alief finals in Novice PF with Alief Kerr winning the tournament Championship over Alief Taylor. WE are specially proud of the team of :

Felicia Johnson and Shimei Nelapati                        1st place in novice Public Forum

Westfield Tournament

11 Jan

On January 8th and 9th Kerr’s speech and debate team attended the Westfield Tournament and received 7th place sweeps.  Congratulations to the following finalist:  


                                                Funmi Amubieya – 1st place

                                                Lisa Le – 4th place

Novice Poetry:

                                                Phil Pham – 4th place


                                                Silvia Chicas – 1st place


                                                Nicholas Chan – 2nd place

Novice Extempt:

                                                Anthony Phung – 4th place